Off to Tuscany

20130426-143110.jpgI’m taking a quick break from the Jordan series for a few days because KD and I are heading over to Florence. I am leaving my laptop at home to keep my backpack light. Heaven knows that by the time we come back, I would have eaten enough pasta equivalent to the weight of my hefty laptop. Or maybe even more! Who am I kidding? It will be a lot more.

Delicious Italian food isn’t the only reason I’m so excited about this trip. I’m a big architecture nut and Florence will be like Disneyland for the giddy girl in me. Back in 1999, when I was choosing what degree to pursue after graduating from high school, I actually applied for the Fine Arts and Architecture program in one of the oldest universities back home in the Philippines. For a number of reasons, I moved away from pursuing architecture as a profession but have accumulated architecture books through the years. One of them is on the life and work of Brunelleschi. For the next four days, I will be but a glance away from Brunelleschi’s masterpiece: the Florence Cathedral. I absolutely dread climbing the 400+ steps up to the top of the dome but I’ll man up and do it to get a glimpse if what Brunelleschi might have stared at back when he was building the dome.

Apart from being rich in architectural achievements, Florence is also known as the birthplace of Renaissance and of the greatest artists known to man: Boticelli, Filippi, Da Vinci, Michaelangelo. We will surely get our fill of art and history, and certainly some flavour of intrigue from the Medicis. I’m so ready to nerd out on the rich Florentine history!

Whilst Florence is going to be our priority for this trip, we’re also doing side trips to Siena and Pisa. We’re takings trains and buses all over Tuscany – notorious for the lack of English signs. Wish us luck! I hope we don’t get miserably lost.

Wherever you are this weekend, I hope you’re having fun! I’ll be back next week with lots of stories.

(Image by Fabio Cataldo)

Leave a Reply

